The unusual Solido Leduc

For toys made before 1980. Up to and including Aero Minis and the last of the Dinky Toy aircraft.

Moderators: MichaelB, angelreader

The unusual Solido Leduc

Postby grwebster » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:21 pm

Here is one that no one else made a toy or model of except Solido France
This unusual aircraft was developed in the early stages of German wartime occupation of France by Breguet, but hidden away until after the war. It was not test flown until 1947. It was powered by a ramjet and needed to be carried aloft on another plane for engine start......and as a pilot I wonder what the ejection plan was? You can read more here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leduc_0.10

The Solido toy first appeared with a blued cockpit along with all the other early postwar Solido aircraft until it was eliminated, probably for cost reasons, by1955. It has wire outriggers for stability.

Solido was not into making many gift sets during the 1950s but here is one which featured the Leduc.

The last aircraft toys Solido made were carrier based French Marine nationale planes planted marine blue with an anchor in the center of the roundel.
GR Webster
Central Florida, and France
grwebster@aol.com grwebster@me.com
grwebster

Re: unusual Coleoptère from SNECMA

Postby alas » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:34 am

I love these experimental craft - how about this beauty, which really took off (once, I gather) in 1959?
Another French experiment!

There is a plastic model - I have never seen a diecast, let alone a tin one...
alas

Re: The unusual Solido Leduc

Postby 24C » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:19 pm

The Solido Leduc is a model of the 010, that was launched from a Languedoc transport plane.

Rene Leduc was working at Breguet and developed the ramjet technology in 1937, then got a government subvention to build a prototype. But that happened only after the war,